Messaging

With Messaging, you can connect with friends and send messages of encouragement, inspiration, and support. 

Once you have added friends, you can start a message with one friend or start a group chat with multiple friends. 

Learn how to find friends on Charitable Impact. 

Tip:

You can only send a message or start a group chat with people who are your friends on Charitable Impact. 

To send a message to a friend 

  1. Select the speech bubble in the top right-hand corner of your Home screen. This will open Messaging.
  2. Select the pencil icon in the top right-hand corner.   
  3. Type the name of the friend you want to message. You can also select a friend from the drop-down menu. 
  4. Once you have selected a friend, type a message.
  5. To send your message, select Enter

Tip:

You can also message a friend by opening their profile and selecting the “Message” button.

To start a group chat

Chats can have between 2 - 30 members in the group. You can customize your group chat with an optional name and photo. 

To start a group chat with multiple friends:

  1. Select the speech bubble in the top right-hand corner of your Home screen. This will open Messaging.
  2. Select the pencil icon in the top right-hand corner. 
  3. Type multiple names to select friends. You can also select friends from the drop-down menu.
  4. Once you have selected multiple friends, select Next in the top right-hand corner.
  5. Type an optional group name by selecting the pen icon next to New Group. Select the green checkmark to save. (The character limit for a group name is 25 characters.) 
  6. To add an optional group photo, select the default group photo icon.
  7. Select Upload photo to choose your group photo from your desktop. 

To add additional members to the group chat:

  1. Select the group chat in your Messages. 
  2. Select the group chat name at the top of your screen. 
  3. Select Add members halfway down the screen on the right-hand side. You’ll then be prompted to add friends to the group chat. 

Group chat admins

Group chats can have multiple administrators. When you create a group chat, you automatically become an admin. Only admins can add or remove members from the chat. 

If you leave the group, admin status will be passed on to the second friend who joined the group. 

To make a member a group chat admin:

  1. Select the group chat in your Messages. 
  2. Select the three dots in the top right-hand corner of your screen. 
  3. Select See members.
  4. Select the three dots beside the member you would like to make an admin. Then select Make group admin from the drop-down.  

To remove a group chat member:

  1. Select the group chat in your Messages. 
  2. Select the group chat name at the top of your screen. 
  3. Select the three dots beside the member you would like to remove. Then select Remove from conversation from the drop-down menu. 

Muting conversations

If you no longer want to receive notifications of a new message in either a one-on-one message or a group chat, you have the option to mute a conversation. 

To mute a conversation: 

  1. At the top of your message window, select the three dots in the right-hand corner. 
  2. Select Mute

Tip: 

If you wish to unmute a friend, you can repeat the steps above and select Unmute

Leaving conversations

If you no longer want to be part of a one-on-one message or group chat, you have the option to leave a conversation. 

  1. At the top of your message window, select the three dots in the right-hand corner. 
  2. Select Leave conversation

Note: 

When you leave a conversation, members of the one-on-one message or group chat will see that you have left. 

For group chats, you can only be added back into the chat by the group admin(s). 

Deleting conversations

If you’d like, you have the option to delete a conversation.

Deleting a message will only delete it from your device. The message will still appear for other recipients. 

To delete a conversation: 

  1. At the top of your message window, select the three dots in the right-hand corner.
  2. Select Delete

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us